Candidates for NAHSL Offices

October 13, 2009 at 3:19 pm | Posted in General News, Meetings | Leave a comment

Candidate for Conference-Chair 2011 (Connecticut), Chapter Chair-Elect

Katherine Stemmer Frumento, MLS, MBA, AHIP

Katherine Stemmer Frumento, MLS, MBA, AHIP; Director, Library Services; Greenwich Hospital; Greenwich, CT

Katherine Stemmer Frumento, MLS, MBA, AHIP; Director, Library Services; Greenwich Hospital; Greenwich, CT

Statement: While mulling over the question “Why do I want to be the next NAHSL chair-elect?”  I took a trip down memory lane by “leafing through” the NAHSL’s online archives. My first thought was “Wow, we’ve come along way.”  I joined NAHSL in 1985, shortly after I started my first job in the medical librarian field (back in the days of 300 baud modems). It took me approximately one year to become involved in NAHSL.  First as a member of the Education Committee, then chair of that same committee and other various positions along the way. But I digress…

Along the lines of the song “Getting to know you…” following is my short bio…

I started in the medical field as a solo librarian in a small community hospital, moved up to a 300+ teaching hospital, which led to a stint as the director of Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s medical library, then back to CT where I’ve been for almost nine years. During these 25 years I obtained my MBA; attended the NLN sponsored BioMedical Informatics seminar at Woods Hole; survived Six Sigma training; and last, but not least “graduated” from Dale Carnegie.

Professional activities include the current MLA/HLS Joint Commission liaison; Hospital Library Section Chair (2005); Vital Pathways Task Force Steering Committee; and the former editor of the Hospital Library Section’s newsletter National Network. On the local level, I’ve served as CAHSL’S secretary, president, and programming chair, as well as served on at least four NAHSL conference planning committees.

My personal philosophy is the following – With each new advent of technology over the course of my career, people have predicted the end of medical librarians (remember Grateful Med?). Once our users learned how to generate their own searches, we would be out of business. Once our users could download full-text articles on demand, we would be out of business. Well, in case you haven’t noticed – we are still here. Have our jobs changed? Most definitely! Are our jobs being threatened by new technology, the economy, and administrators’ mindsets (Information is just a free Goggle search away.) Yes again. Does this mean medical librarians will become extinct? Definitely not! Call me Pollyanna, but I truly believe our profession will remain alive and well for many more years to come.

As NAHSL’s 2011 Conference Chair I promise to carry on Connecticut’s tradition of hosting a relevant, educational, and fun conference. As the 2012 Chapter Chair, my most important goal will be to ask NAHSL members how the association can serve them better. And then act on those responses. We have a solid and progressive 50 years as our foundation. I want to ensure that our association continues that tradition for our current and future colleagues.

Candidate for Conference-Chair 2011 (Connecticut), Chapter Chair-Elect

Charles Greenberg, MLS Med

Charles Greenberg, MLS Med, Coordinator of Curriculum and Research Support Cushing/Whitney Medical Library; Yale University; New Haven, CT

Charles Greenberg, MLS Med; Coordinator of Curriculum and Research Support Cushing/Whitney Medical Library; Yale University; New Haven, CT

Statement: All things are ready, if our minds be so. [Shakespeare. Henry V, Act IV.     Scene III.]

“Become master of your mind; do not let your mind master you.”  Mindfulness is a state of self-awareness where you make conscious decisions and efforts, actively aware of the web of causality, taking responsibility for the future you create.  I suppose that mindfulness is the opposite of mindlessness, those things that we do to simply react to the situation in which we find ourselves. Instead of steady, purposeful effort toward anticipated results, you can be swayed and even buffeted by the winds of prosperity or decline, praise or censure.

As an information professional for 30 years and a medical librarian for 20 years, I have practiced librarianship in both economic prosperity and decline. What is unique and certain about today’s economic uncertainty are the high performance communication and computing systems supplying an interconnected global web of business, health care practice and research, and education. Change is inevitable, and the forces creating change can arrive unpredictably or abruptly. Our collective ability as an organization, to mindfully react and respond in unity as competent and informed professionals to changes in health care and new health discoveries, is the theme of candidacy.

What do I believe are the keys to mindful growth and prosperity of NAHSL in the near future?

  1. Interconnectedness and Networking- No professional in NAHSL is alone.  We work smarter when we are collaborating, finding common interests and goals, finding satisfaction in professional practice.
  2. Education- Learning requires effort, and effective learning is empowering. How can we expand our chapter education program to provide even more learning opportunities and leverage what MLA is willing to offer?
  3. Ethics- Does the MLA statement of Ethics (http://www.mlanet.org/about/ethics.html) resonate in your daily professional practice and libraries? If not, there is an MLA Ethics Task Force formed in 2008 to update these principles, based on the changing health care environment.
  4. The future of NAHSL:  we cannot change the past, but everything we do in the present is a cause for the Chapter’s future.  Are we mindful of the past, yet focused on strategic opportunities to improve professional and institutional practice and collaboration at the MLA chapter level?

I have both admiration and respect for my colleague Kathy, my worthy competitor.  I would be happy to contribute my efforts toward NAHSL prosperity and value creation under her leadership, so my interest in running for this office is a no-loss (or win-win) proposition.  Please participate in the selection with the confidence that Kathy and I are equally committed to a healthy and vibrant MLA New England chapter.

Candidate for Secretary

Lynn Sette MLS

Lynn Sette MLS; Reference Librarian; Cushing/Whitney Medical Library; Yale University; New Haven, CT

Lynn Sette MLS; Reference Librarian; Cushing/Whitney Medical Library; Yale University; New Haven, CT

Statement: I would welcome the opportunity to be a member of the executive board.  I have been a member of NAHSL for numerous years and throughout the years have attended many great conferences and now I would like to actively participate.  I have served on various committees including the membership committee 1989-1990, the hospitality committee 1990, 2001 and local arrangements in 2006.  I am currently serving as the President Elect and the Bylaws Chair for CAHSL.  In my position at the Cushing/Whitney Medical Library and as a member of the CAHSL Executive Board, I participate in strategic planning and goal development, and work to accomplish these goals. I look forward to serving on the NAHSL board as Secretary and to becoming involved in the work of the executive board.

Candidate for Chapter Council Representative

Len Levin, MS LIS, MA, AHIP

Len Levin, MS LIS, MA, AHIP; Acting Head, Education and Clinical Services Instructor, Department of Family Medicine & Community Health; Lamar Soutter Library; University of Massachusetts Medical School; Worcester, MA

Len Levin, MS LIS, MA, AHIP; Acting Head, Education and Clinical Services Instructor, Department of Family Medicine & Community Health; Lamar Soutter Library; University of Massachusetts Medical School; Worcester, MA

Statement: 2009 is my thirteenth year as a member of NAHSL.  I first became involved on the leadership level in 1999 when I accepted the position of chair of the Marketing Committee.  One of my committee’s major successes was the creation of two “Top 10 Ways to Market Your Library” lists that were distributed at NAHSL and MLA meetings.  In 2001, I was asked to take on the roll of Conference Chair for the 2003 meeting in Sturbridge.  Following this conference, I was Chair and then Past-Chair of NAHSL through 2005.  In 2005, I returned to the Marketing Committee to serve one additional term as chair before leaving the Executive Board.  In 2008, I served as Program Chair for the 2008 conference and was also elected to serve as MLA Chapter Rep Alternate.  I was also honored to receive the MAHSL Achievement Award in 2008.   I would be delighted and honored to utilize these past experiences in order to represent our chapter on the MLA level.

Candidate for Chapter Council Alternate Representative

Janet Cowen, MSLS, AHIP

Janet Cowen

Janet Cowen, MSLS, AHIP; Director of Library Services; Maine Medical Center; Portland ME

Statement: Some might consider me a “new comer” to NAHSL; I’m only in my 10th year as Director of Library Services at Maine Medical Center. I came to New England with 20+ years of experience as a medical librarian, and in my 30 years in this profession, I have been very active on the local, chapter, and national level. As this is a chapter position, I’ll highlight my NAHSL activities. From 2002 to 2006, I was the HSLIC representative to the NAHSL Board. I served as the Program Chair for our successful meeting at Sebasco Harbor in 2004. From 2005 to 2007, I was NAHSL’s MLA Benchmarking liaison. During the 2006-2007 year, I chaired the Professional Development Fund Committee. In 2006, I was elected NAHSL’s Chapter Council Representative, and my term ends in May 2010. It isn’t uncommon for Chapter Council Representatives to serve two terms, however I thought it would be good for our chapter to freshen things up a bit. Len Levin has ably served as Chapter Council Alternate, and will be an excellent Representative. I would like to continue to serve the NAHSL membership as the Alternate.


Candidate for NAHSL Nominee to the MLA Nominating Committee

Javier Crespo, Associate Director, National Network of Libraries of Medicine, New England Region; Shrewsbury, MA

Javier Crespo, Associate Director, National Network of Libraries of Medicine, New England Region; Shrewsbury, MA

Javier Crespo, Associate Director, National Network of Libraries of Medicine, New England Region; Shrewsbury, MA

Statement: Javier Crespo is the Associate Director for the National Network of Libraries of Medicine New England Region.  In this role Javier oversees all programs of the regional office, communicates with network members and other constituents, and is the primary liaison to the National Library of Medicine for day-to-day operations.  He is a member of the Medical Library Association (since 1999) and its Consumer and Patient Health Information Section.  Javier was CAPHIS Treasurer from 2006-2008.  As Section Council Representative Javier served on the MLA Membership Committee and the New Members’ Breakfast Committee and spoke on behalf of Section Council at those events (2005, 2006).  Javier also served on the Nominating Committee of the Leadership and Management Section (2007).  Javier is a member of the region’s chapter association and serves on its Executive Board (since 2003).  In 2006 Javier was a National Library of Medicine/Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries Leadership Fellow.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

