Tweeter to the Stars

October 29, 2010 at 12:53 pm | Posted in General News, NAHSL Annual Meeting 2010 | Leave a comment

I’m an unabashedly avid fan of Twitter. Not in the evangelistic sense that David Rothman warned against in his presentation at the Annual Meeting this week, but I simply love the tool as a mode of receiving information that I find interesting, relevant, entertaining, and occasionally ego-boosting. I admit that there are few things more exciting that receiving a tweet back from a famous singer I admire (Rosanne Cash), a show I enjoy (NPR Weekend Edition), or an author whose recent book I really liked (Mary Murphy). I’ve even started “collecting” these tweets in what I’ve dubbed my “Tweet Autograph Book”, a little digital archive of my brushes with fame.

Nancy Goodwin, Director of Tremaine Library at Middlesex Hospital, Middletown, CT, had a great poster at this year’s meeting about how her staff used Dan Pink’s book “A Whole New Mind” to brain storm and plan new events and directions for their library. MLA members might recall being first introduced to this book when it was selected as pre-reading prior to 2010 meeting in Washington. Mr. Pink then provided the keynote lecture at the same.

Personally, I was really inspired by this book, by the keynote, and by the follow-up webcast session that MLA hosted later in the summer. It’s not surprising then that I was drawn to Nancy’s poster. She told me all about the program and how much they all enjoyed using “A Whole New Mind” as a working tool. Tweeting about the conference, I posted the following AND as you can see, got a nice “Tweet Autograph” for Nancy, her staff, and NAHSL.


~ Sally Gore, Electronic Communications Chair

[You can see my Tweet Autograph Book here.]

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

