To be or not to be: Face-to-face instruction or Hybrid instruction: That is the question!

January 5, 2011 at 12:12 pm | Posted in Professional Development | Leave a comment

With apologies to W. Shakespeare, I wish to report on my Professional Development Grant experience.

My Professional Development project involved learning how to convert a traditional face-to-face course into a hybrid course (some web-based classes and some face-to-face).  I took a web-based course from Diane Kovacs  (her company is called Kovacs Consulting) entitled “Instructional Design for Online Teaching and Learning”, starting in September 2010, and still ongoing!  It is run asynchronously, which is great for my schedule – I can access it at my convenience.

The course has readings and activities to complete, as well as extra resources to read, should one have the time!   Upon satisfactory completion of all exercises, 20 MLA CE credits may be awarded by the instructor.

The interactivity allowed participants to “talk” to one another and the instructor, and each lesson’s readings and activities were challenging enough for those of us with some background in web-based instruction.   The most helpful aspect of the course for me is the actual creation of a mini-web-based course that we create, utilizing what we have learned.  This very practical manifestation allows us to incorporate not only the subject matter we wish but to be as creative as we wish.  In my teaching, I have always sought to reach students using unusual or unique materials, media, or activities, and wanted to carry this over to any web-based course I was going to teach, as well.  Given time and luck, with this course as a base, I hope to be on my way.

I appreciate the opportunity NAHSL provided me, by offering the funding for this course.

Marilyn Steinberg

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

