NAHSL Member Receives Award for Poster

January 31, 2011 at 4:03 pm | Posted in Awards and Recognition, Meetings, Professional Development | Leave a comment

In April 2010 I was awarded a NAHSL Professional Development Grant to cover a one-day conference registration at MLA ’10 in Washington, DC.  I had an accepted abstract for a research-based lightening poster presentation at the annual meeting. My poster, An Analysis of Clinical Questions Asked at Professor Rounds: An Update, ended up winning an honorable mention award for posters by the research awards judging team. I was notified of this award in mid-August. I have been encouraged by the research awards judging team to publish the results of my research in the Journal of the Medical Library Association. I plan to begin work on this publication shortly.

In addition to my lightening poster presentation, I also attended a CE course (PubMed Clinics of North America) at the same meeting. Since then, I have shared learned tips and tricks about searching PubMed with MeSH headings with faculty librarians at a Dana Medical Library presentation in early September. I was also able to incorporate the MeSH information into my own teaching of a hands-on workshop series, From Funding To Publication, which targeted graduate students on the UVM campus.

[Submitted by: Nancy Bianchi, Library Associate Professor, Dana Medical Library, University of Vermont]

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

