Continuing Education AT ITS BEST!

May 19, 2011 at 12:38 pm | Posted in Continuing Education, Professional Development | Leave a comment

By Marybeth Edwards, Roger Williams Medical Center, Providence, RI

When I was given the opportunity to enroll in Searching in Support of Systematic Reviews, I was thrilled!  Having registered others for the sold-out course at the NAHSL conference in Newport, I was excited to be able to attend myself, on April 13, 2011 in Waltham, at the beautiful Massachusetts Medical Society headquarters.  Every aspect of the experience exceeded my expectations.   Instructors Jan Glover and Karen Odato were well-prepared, knowledgeable and exceedingly generous with their personal experience and expertise.  I have a new-found respect for any librarian who is fortunate enough to be able to provide support to their researchers who are doing this important type of systematic gathering, analysis and presentation of the clinical evidence that increasingly provides the basis for treatment decisions.  I hope to be able to now provide that type of support myself.  I have a much clearer understanding of the role the librarian can and should play in the process, and  I’ll never read a systematic review again without using the information shared with me in this class by these two experts, in the company of fourteen friends and colleagues! 

Thank you, NAHSL!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

