NAHSL Member Stays on Course with Professional Development Award

March 1, 2012 at 11:01 am | Posted in Professional Development | Leave a comment

In late April 2011, I received a Professional Development Award to cover the costs of the MLA e-Learning course “Safe and Reliable: Finding Quality Complementary and Alternative Health Information for Consumers on the Web”.  The online format allowed me to work through the seven lessons at my own pace.  In each lesson, I had the hands-on opportunity to search and evaluate CAM information that is currently available on the internet.

The content of this course is critical to my work as the Outreach Librarian at Baystate Health.  My role is to assist patients and their families in finding reliable information to support their health care decisions.  My job is to provide personal assistance for twenty hours per week at our Consumer Health Library.  I spend the remainder of my work week in outreach activities (community health meetings, library resources instruction, consumer health presentations).  No matter where I am, I find that consumers are interested in complementary and alternative medicine.

I find value in taking the time for Professional Development.  The assignments required that I take a good look at a variety of CAM websites, from high-quality to questionable.  I am better prepared to teach CAM after taking this class.  I feel more confident fielding questions about evaluating for quality.  Instructor Diane Kovacs provided timely and supportive feedback about each of my assignments.  And, I earned a whopping 15 CE contact hours!

My gentle criticism of the course is that the Moodle interface is awkward.  And, a review and updating of content is in order.  With that said, I’d encourage those working with consumer health resources to consider this CE opportunity.

[Submitted by Margot Malachowski, MLS, Outreach Librarian, Baystate Health Sciences Library]

  • You can view other e-Learning opportunities from MLA here.
  • You can apply for a NAHSL Professional Development Award here.
Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

