Professional Development Support for MLA 2012 – Thank you NAHSL! from Dina McKelvy

June 4, 2012 at 9:59 am | Posted in Professional Development | 1 Comment

Thank you very much for the opportunity to attend the Medical Library Association meeting inSeattlefrom May 20-23. The conference this year was excellent with many programs of interest. I hope I will see more of my NAHSL colleagues at MLA when it comes toBostonin 2013.

I’ll mention some specific things I learned at the conference which I hope to pursue or explore here at Maine Medical Center. At the first sunrise seminar, the speaker stated that the expectation of students for the library’s physical space is to “be in a setting that feels scholarly”.  Steven Johnson, the plenary speaker also referred to this as the “coffee house” environment as a multidisciplinary space. Since so much can accessed online, the physical library space is no longer the warehouse for resources, but a place to have a scholarly experience. This memorable quote is from Steven Johnson, “chance favors the connected mind.”

Since our upcoming renovation will enable us to share space with clinical research staff, I was also very interested in translational science. I learned about some repository and name disambiguation resources I would like to explore for the library: Scival, Vivo, Biomed Experts, and Orcid. I was also interested in how the library supports systematic reviews using LibGuides and offering structured guidance as a service to staff.

I attended the sunrise seminar on the Cochrane Collaboration, and learned a great deal about a resource I use regularly. I have a better understanding of the decentralized organization of this initiative, and the “expectations” (not standards) they have for their authors. I was pleased to learn about resources like Cochrane Clinical Answers, videos and podcasts and a Cochrane Journal Club – a ready package of readings, slides and podcasts to support a journal club.

The section programs I attended suggested new approaches to services we provide, as did some of the posters presented. One presentation on PubMed filtering highlighted the fact that custom filters can present users with faster access to what we call “Clinical Queries” – or an evidence-based filtered search. A couple of poster addressed how to increase usage of ebooks – from including QR codes in the stacks to improving cataloging and indexing.

The plenary speakers were all excellent, and I especially appreciated the Janet Doe lecture by Mark Funk which featured an analysis of word usage from the BMLA/JMLA. It was a fascinating look at major themes from our past and emerging topics in our future using a tool familiar to librarians: bibliometrics.

I traveled with my family toSeattle. My husband had spent time there and was excited to visit again with the kids. I had a couple extra days after the conference to explore and we had a great time. We saw the new Chihuly exhibit (awesome), the King Tut exhibit (amazing), cruised theSan Juan islands(beautiful) and watched a pod of orcas hunting and feeding (incredible).  What a wonderful family trip!

 

The McFamily visits the new

Chihuly Garden & Glass exhibit in Seattle Center.

My 12-year-old son thought it was cool.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

  1. Thanks for posting! Love the “chance favors…” quote.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

