PD Committee Support for NAHSL 2012 – Sue Warthman!

November 16, 2012 at 3:43 pm | Posted in Awards and Recognition, Continuing Education, NAHSL Annual Meeting 2012, Professional Development | Leave a comment

Thanks to NAHSL, I was able to attend the NAHSL annual conference in Woodstock, VT this year. I was very fortunate to be able to attend two great continuing education classes, RML Proposal Writing and Introduction to Mendeley. These classes were very enlightening and informative.

The continuing education committee had a lovely buffet of seasonal temptations, which were to die for. It was so nice to have luscious treats while learning about the process of NN/LM NER funding.

I hope to put my knowledge of grant writing to the test and am in the process of writing the Intent to Apply for Proposal for the Community Engagement Award for the Physical Therapy department at New England Institute of Technology. It is an exciting opportunity to apply the facts and helpful tips that Michelle Eberle conveyed in our three hour class and possibly win an award that will allow students a chance to work in the community and assist those in need of physical therapy at no cost. Even if we don’t win an award this year, I will have had the experience and confidence of writing a grant proposal under my belt and can proceed to try again in the future.

Alison Clapp and Nathan Norris exposed me to the bibliographic citation manager, Mendeley. I had been aware of this free citation software, but never had the chance to use it or learn more about it. This exploration was nice exposure to one of the many tools librarians should be aware of.

Unfortunately, I was only able to attend the first two plenary speakers. Hurricane Sandy put a damper on the conference and urged many of us to leave early. Sadly, I missed Gary Schwitzer and Chris Bohjalian’s presentations, but had the good fortune to hear Gary Taubes, Lisa Schwartz and Steven Woloshin speak. The juxtaposition of the two Monday sessions complimented each other nicely.

The Breakout sessions were great. I Attended Laura Cousineau’s session on the use of Ipads and Elizabeth Stanton’s session on issues relating to freedom of speech and its relationship with social networking tools, such as Facebook. There were only four breakout sessions to choose from and they repeated themselves. Hence, I feel as though I didn’t I missed out on too much.

The Lightning Presentations were much more engaging and dynamic than the typical Poster Board presentations. They were a nice change, a first for me. They were quick, informative, and very clever. I feel that I learned more during this format.

I am so glad I was able have had the opportunity to meet up with friends and colleagues. The Welcome Reception was held at a very lovely place to socialize and shop, The Loft at Simon Pearce. I had the chance to chat, eat, see glass being created and view the waterfall up close along with a beautiful full moon. It was a memorable experience and I look forward to seeing everyone in Falmouth, MA next year. Thank you NAHSL for putting on a great conference, as always, and for enabling me to go to the conference via the Professional Development Award. I appreciate it.

Susan Warthman, MLIS, AHIP
Director of the Library & Information Commons
New England Institute of Technology

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

