NAHSL 2012 Wrap-Up

December 21, 2012 at 6:13 pm | Posted in NAHSL Annual Meeting 2012, Professional Development | Leave a comment

This year’s NAHSL conference was the second that I have attended. Being rather new to librarianship, I haven’t before worked in a professional career that gave me the opportunity to participate in conferences. When I went the first time, I welcomed the chance to meet with vendors and take a CE course, and to hear the speakers. Although I enjoyed and benefitted from all those things this second time around, I was more gratified to have the opportunity to be with my NAHSL colleagues. That, for me, was the highlight of this year’s conference.
Now that I know so many more of my fellow medical librarians, I truly appreciated the opportunity to network, to have fun with, to talk and share experiences with people who are now more than just names on the other end of a DOCLINE. It’s so easy to forget the importance of person-to-person dialogue and the art of conversation in an age where email, texting, and social networking are becoming the norms in interpersonal and business communications.
I was especially gratified to meet with Claire LaForce, NAHSL’s credentialing liaison to MLA. We discussed CAHSL’s plan to start an AHIP focus group, a discussion that led to talks with MLA about how we can encourage and support our state members who want to earn the AHIP membership. Claire and I are also working on plans to do more for our region to encourage AHIP certification, and help those who might find the process a bit daunting. I left the conference energized, excited about the possibilites this next year holds, and looking forward to meeting my colleagues in Falmouth in 2013.

Submitted by Donna Belcinski, Clinical Librarian, Greenwich Hospital

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

