Greetings from Your NAHSL Executive Board!

November 10, 2014 at 6:21 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Your Executive Board will be communicating regularly with you over the coming year. We have lots to do and we welcome your input along the way.

Be sure to visit the NAHSL website regularly:

And don’t forget to sign up to monitor and comment on NAHSL blog posts:

NAHSL Chair 2014-2015

I am Cindy Stewart and I am honored to be your new Chair of NAHSL for the coming year.  I have been with the Dartmouth College Biomedical Libraries since 1991 (except for 3 years, when I worked in sponsored programs at The Jackson Laboratory, in Bar Harbor, Maine). I recently accepted a new position at Dartmouth with their Clinical and Translational Science Institute.  I have been actively involved with NAHSL throughout my career, including chairing the 2012 conference in Woodstock, VT.

Thank you to Rich Kaplan – Past NAHSL Chair

Please join me in thanking Rich Kaplan for his leadership as our NAHSL Chair this past year. Rich took the lead in starting a very important discussion about the future of NAHSL, and is responsible for getting your feedback both on the member survey and at the Open Forum at our recent NAHSL conference. Rich will continue to serve on the board in the coming year, as our Past Chair and Nominating Committee Chair.

NAHSL Executive Board Members

Also, thank you to the following out-going officers for all of their hard work, dedication, and commitment:

Lori Bradshaw –Treasurer (term ends 12/31/14)
Ellen Brassil – Bylaws Chair
Janet Cowen – Conference Chair 2014
Jeannine Gluck – Continuing Education Chair
Donna Belcinski – Marketing Chair
Alison Clapp – Professional Development Chair
Len Levin – Nominee to MLA Nominating Committee (not an official Executive Board position, but important to thank, nonetheless!) and Wild Apricot guru.

And a huge welcome to the following new Board members and current members with new roles:

Donna Belcinski – Chair-Elect
Anne Fladger – Treasurer (effective 1/1/2015)
Fran Delwiche – Bylaws Chair
Jeannine Gluck – Conference Chair 2016
Anne Conner – Continuing Education
Sally Gore – Marketing Chair
Melanie Norton  – Professional Development Chair
Debra Berlanstein – Nominee to MLA Nominating Committee

Finally, a big thanks to the following members who are currently continuing to serve on the Board:

Debra Berlanstein – Secretary
Erika Sevetson – Conference Chair 2015
Dina McKelvy – Chapter Council Representative
Marianne Burke – Chapter Council Alternate
Nathan Norris & Lisa Adriani – Electronic Communications Co-Chairs
Gary Atwood – Government Relations Chair
Valori Banfi – Membership Chair
Mary Piorun – NN/LM, NER
Meredith Solomon – Credentialing Chair

State Representatives:

Madge Boldt – ARIHSL
Lisa Carter – CAHSL
Dina McKelvy – HSLIC
Donna Beales – MAHSLIN
Maureen Dunn – NH/VT

For the complete list of our Executive Board members and their contact information, please visit:


2014 Conference Update

It was great to see so many of you at this year’s annual NAHSL meeting.  Thank you to Conference Chair, Janet Cowen, and her outstanding planning committee ( for a fabulous conference at the Samoset Resort in Rockport, Maine.   Highlights included: practical CE Courses, an enjoyable opening reception at the Maine Lighthouse Museum, interesting and engaging plenary speakers, a productive open forum, and an entertaining Talent Show (and wow…we have some very talented members among us!).

Interesting facts & figures from the conference:

Registrations – 108


20 first-time attendees
1 student
8 retired members
Exhibitors (and their additional staff) – 24

TOTAL = 132

CE course participants – 26

Number of people who participated in the Sunday night dine-arounds – 60

We need your feedback!  If you have completed the conference evaluation, thank you! For those of you who have not yet completed the evaluation, please use the following link to tell us what you think: If you did not attend, we would like to hear from you too.


Achievement Award

Congratulations to Janet Cowen, who has been awarded the NAHSL Achievement Award!  Janet, former Director of Library Services at Maine Medical Center, has been an active member of NAHSL since 2000. She has represented NAHSL on MLA chapter council, served on the special task force for the conference, and most recently served as our 2014 Conference Chair. This is particularly noteworthy, given that Janet retired a year before the conference. Yet she worked tirelessly on the conference planning, leading her conference planning committee with much energy and enthusiasm. To help save NAHSL expenses, Janet utilized video conferencing for her planning committee meetings, and ran effective and productive meetings, saving everyone valuable time. Janet has been a conscientious colleague, always generous in spirit. Please join us in congratulating Janet on this well-deserved recognition.



The 2015 Conference will be in Providence, Rhode Island, October 18-20, 2015. The theme is “Health Sciences Libraries: Anchored in Excellence.” Anchors aweigh!


IMPORTANT NOTICE…COMING SOON: Membership Dues Increase Special Vote

You will soon be receiving a special ballot asking you to vote electronically on a membership dues increase for calendar year 2015. An FAQ will be included with the email.


Contacting NAHSL Executive Board Members

Please do not hesitate to contact me or one of your Executive Board members with any comments, questions, suggestions, concerns, etc., you may have. We want to hear from you!

Thank you.

Cindy Stewart, 2014-2015 NAHSL Chair


Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Blog at
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: